The Malaysian Ringgit (currency code: MYR) is the main trading currency in Malaysia. Other major currencies such as the US Dollars, Euros, or British Pounds can also be used in selected major stores city-wide, though often these are congregated within the vicinity of the Kuala Lumpur City Centre.

Denominations for the Malaysian Ringgit come in different sizes and colours for convenience. The acronym "RM", stands for Ringgit Malaysia while "Sen" refers to monies less than RM 1. Notes are printed in RM 1 (Blue), RM 5 (Light Green), RM 10 (Red), RM 20 (Yellow), RM 50 (Blue Green), RM 100 (Purple), and Sen are coined in form of 5 Sen, 10 Sen, 20 Sen, and 50 Sen.

Licensed money changers are easy to find throughout the city, and typically accept most of the major currencies. In addition to this, traveller's cheques can also be cashed in at banks, licensed money changers and selected hotels.

Most stores and restaurants accept major credit cards, such as Visa, MasterCard, and Amex. However, it is highly recommended that you do keep sufficient cash in hand for emergencies.