RapidKL Bus

RapidKL buses services 6 key areas of the Klang Valley with a total of 165 routes. It provides 5 types of bus services to the commuter, namely the Tempatan service that carries passengers from the residential areas to the main routes.

The main routes is serviced by the Utama buses which then funnels the passengers into the city hubs where they can then go on to their final destination in the city center using the Bandar service. Ekspres service which, as the name implies, is a non-stop ride from key points around the Klang Valley straight into the city. Finally, under the NKRA Transport initiatives, Bus Express Transit (BET) was introduced in Feb 2010. Under this service, 4 Utama routes are converted to express routes and utilized under capacity highways such as KESAS, Kerinchi – Penchala Link & NPE, to transport passenger during Peak AM & PM to city centre.

More buses have already been added to the fleet and operation times have been increased to a whopping 18.5 hours (5.30am to 12 midnight).

More Information

Bus types
bus operates three types of bus services:
City Shuttles 'Trunk Buses' and 'Local Shuttles'.There are also point-to-point 'Express buses'.

Color Codes
City Shuttles have red destination boards, trunk buses have blue boards, local shuttles have green boards and express services have orange boards.

RapidKL Bus Areas
RapidKL has also divided up the Klang Valley into six areas:
Area One : Kuala Lumpur City Centre (Central Business District)
Area Two : Kepong, Segambut, Selayang, Batu Caves, Gombak, Jalan Ipoh & Sentul
Area Three : Setapak, Wangsa Maju, Ulu Klang, Setiawangsa, Keramat, Ampang & Pandan
Area Four : Cheras, Kajang, Ulu Langat, Putrajaya, Cyberjaya, Semenyih,Sungai Besi, Seri Kembangan, Serdang & Balakong
Area Five : Klang, Shah Alam Selatan, Bandar Sunway, Subang Jaya, Jalan Klang Lama & Puchong
Area Six : Shah Alam Utara, Subang, Damansara, Petaling Jaya Utara, Bangsar & Kota Damansara

Bus Indentification
Route numbers for city shuttles are prefixed by the letter "B" (for Bandar), e.g. B114.
Route numbers for trunk services are prefixed with the letter "U" (for Utama), e.g. U410. Route
numbers for the local shuttle are prefixed by the letter "T" (for Tempatan), e.g. T323.
Route numbers for the express services are prefixed by the letter "E" (for Ekspres), e.g. E1.